GCAT Annual Awards & Recognition

The Governmental Collectors Association of Texas is a non-profit association that recognizes, supports, and serves governmental collection programs in the state of Texas. The association seeks to enhance the collection of revenue for governmental entities by promoting, innovation, information, and education within its membership and encouraging excellence. It is the vision of this organization to make the state of Texas a recognized leader in the effective and efficient collection of due revenue.

With this in mind the association annually awards and recognizes those individuals and organizations that have worked to achieve excellence and set the standard for all of us to follow.

Award Categories

Most Innovative Program
Awarded to the organization selected as having most improved collections by developing and implementing innovative procedures, systems, or techniques in the past year.

Collector of the Year
Awarded to the collector selected as having had the greatest impact on collections and the collections effort for their city or county in the past year.

Collections Program of the Year
Awarded to the program showing the most dramatic increase in revenue for their city or county in the past year.

Excellence In Service Award
Awarded to the individuals or programs selected for unselfishly providing assistance to others embodying the elements of dedication, commitment, and service, to the association and its membership.

Becky Sirmans Award
Awarded to the individuals or programs selected for finding a way to succeed in spite of seemingly insurmountable obstacles and challenges embodying the spirit to never give up.

Honorary Membership
Honorary membership is an honor reserved for those non-member individuals that the association believes have gone above and beyond the call of duty in assisting the association in achieving its mission and vision.

Nomination Process

In a paragraph of 100 words or less explain why your nominee should receive the award in the category you specify. The nominee must be a GCAT member in good standing. Your nomination must include:

Give examples and if possible provide support (statistics are helpful). Submit the nominations to Stephanie McCormick at smccormick@burnetcountytexas.org and Shawna Goerlitz at sgoerlitz@brazoscountytx.gov no later than 3:00 pm, July 31, 2020. Winners will be announced at the Annual Conference in September.


A total of 5 - 2020 GCAT Conference scholarships are available. The scholarship will cover your GCAT 2020 Conference Registration fee only. The criteria is a 150-200 word description on how attending the 2020 GCAT Conference will benefit your city or county.

Email all essays to Andrea Weilacher at Andrea.Weilacher@dentoncounty.com or call Andrea Weilacher 940-349-2030 by 3:00p.m. on July 31, 2020.

Related: Vision, Mission, History | GCAT Board | Committees | Bylaws